August 7, 2008

  • BOULDER, CO. - Our week in the Boulder area has just been wonderful, with the best part for me getting to spend lots of time with my son, Alex, whom I hadn't seen in a whole year, since he moved out here to the Front Range of the Rockies last summer.
    It's great to get to see his new apartment near downtown Boulder, within walking distance of "The Med," the Mediterranean Restaurant where he is the grill chef, get to meet his new roommates, see where he works, and just get a feel for how he's doing and what his new life is like.
    We've been packing in lots of activity. Alex was able to take three days off this week, so we spent one day exploring up around Estes Park and taking a drive out the Ridge Trail (scary!) up to 12,000 feet, above the tree line.
    We also made a trek down to  Red Rocks, the gorgeous and Mars-like natural amphitheatre, where bands like the Beatles and the Grateful Dead have performed.
    We've spent time walking around the Pearl Street Mall, a walking mall in downtown Boulder, full of flowers, restaurants, street performers and bookstores. Yesterday we drove into Denver and spent several hours in the wonderful Natural History Museum, looking at dinosaur bones and mummies and exhibits about Native American life.
    Alex has to go in to work at 4 today and tomorrow, and we leave Saturday morning, so we'll probably spend a couple of hours with him before he has to work, and do some more sight-seeing.
    I'm already getting a stone in my heart at the idea of leaving Alex and having 850 miles between us  again.  But he's hoping to be able to come see us at Christmas this year, which would thrill me to death, especially if my younger son Jamie, who lives in Harrison, can be there, too.
    I'm thankful that we've been able to make this wonderful trip, thankful to be able to see my son, thankful to be able to spend some relaxing time with my husband, thankful that I have a husband who will bring me out here to see my child, and thankful that we have a hometown we love to go back to.
    I'm going to post a photo album of our trip to Red Rocks above right if you want to take a peek.

    IMG_1604

Comments (5)

  • RYC: You're welcome. How have you been?

  • I'm so glad for your time with Alex. What a blessing to see your son who lives so far away - but at least he lives in a fabulous place to visit! I pray that God will help you to soak in every precious minute and give you strength when the time for parting comes.

  • Red Rocks is amazing, isn't it? When I was there, it was dusted with snow. How much more special to see it in the company of a son you don't see nearly often enough! And oh, I do understand that stone in the heart, and even knowing he's doing well and enjoying life doesn't take it away entirely. My thoughts and prayers will be with you as you go home. I'm so glad you're getting to see such a glorious part of the country!

  • I'm so happy to hear you're having a great time! I know the time has slipped away too quickly, but you can relive it with pictures and journal...be safe traveling back east and will look forward to more about your trip!

  • Glad you made it back safely! What a great trip.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *