August 28, 2008

  • Hey, friends,
    I'm sorry I haven't been a very good Xanga correspondent recently. I feel like I'm out of the Xanga loop lately.
    Nothing too exciting has been going on since we got back from Colorado almost two weeks ago. I go to work every day at the paper, Doyle and I cook supper together, I usually take Hagrid for a walk before it gets dark. I read a lot. We took Doyle's mom Ruby out to eat catfish tonight.
    We're hoping to get out in the country this weekend - I want to shoot some photos.
    Fall is in the air here in the Ozarks, even though it's heated up the last day or two. I checked the weather.com records, and we had more days with highs in the 70s in August than we did in the 90s! It's been delightful to have cooler temperatures. And I just noticed in the last day or two that several dogwood trees in town are already starting to turn red! We have hopes of an extravagantly beautiful fall.
    God bless each one of you tonight. May He build you up where you're broken down, and strengthen you where you're weak.
    (Please leave a comment! I miss hearing from you.)

     

Comments (7)

  • Hello, thank you for answering my message. I love reading your blogs. I was gone, too, in Germany for 3 weeks visiting my brother. Now we get our classrooms ready (and yes I get a classroom of my own:) and school starts next Tuesday. And thanks to prayer and the Lord for building and strengthening, for He definitely has.

    Love you,
    Gerrie

  • Well now, that was a great, newsy post! I'm sitting up late after just getting home from a Thursday night High School Football game road trip. Ferris has been a stellar performer so far. When I start blogging again, I'll give a full report.

  • Celia, you take as long as you want to get back into the flow. You have a sweet life. We love to read about it, but just knowing you're doing well and enjoying your husband, job, dog and occasional rambles makes us happy, too.

    And aren't these chilly nights simply delicious?

  • I'm so glad you're home! Glad, too, that you're taking some time to ease back into life. I don't know too many better ways to do that than to stay close to home and read a lot.

    So what are you reading? I've just finished a really fun book called "The Life And Times of The Thunderbolt Kid," by Bill Bryson, all about growing up in the Midwest in the 50s. Now I'm reading "The Mother Tongue: English and How It Got That Way," by the same author.

    I can feel autumn in the air too--warm days, cool nights, and that subtle change in the light that looks somehow late--like late afternoon sun, but all day long. I can't wait!

    I AM going to drag Amos down to the Ozarks next month for a drive.

  • Sometimes life is BETTER when it isn't exciting.  :)   I do miss it when you don't post your weekly column....guess they are not all written expressly for xanga readers, but I sure do enjoy them. Hope your weekend is relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Amen to the cooler weather in the Ozarks.  It's been great not running the ac as much.  Today it's pretty warm and humid. But that will change in a few weeks.  glad you had a good time in Colorado.  hugs   Dawn

  • Summer temperatures seem to be cooler almost but not quite everywhere.  I hope this doesn't mean a colder, snowier winter.  At least we should have the fall beauty to enjoy before cold days.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *