September 17, 2008

  •    After Hurricane Ike lost his way and blew through
    our corner of the Ozarks Saturday night, toppling trees and stealing
    electricity from our neighbors, we were ready for the gift of blue
    skies and cooler temperatures that Sunday brought us.
       Doyle and I
    loaded up our big dog and headed south on Highway 7 to the Buffalo
    River Trail at Pruitt. Early fall was in the air, in the fresh breeze,
    and the sunlight that seems more golden than it is any other time of
    year.
       You had to look sharp, but you could spot the first colors of
    fall along the damp trail. A bright-red scrap of Virginia creeper that
    had lighted next to a fern at the base of a hickory tree.
    A maple leaf,
    grapefruit-colored, floating in a puddle near a spring. IMG_2449
    Narrow walnut
    leaves fluttering down in the gentle wind, glinting gold in the
    sun-rays that pierced the trees, sparking against the green woods like
    lightning bugs. Fallen hickory nuts still in their husks, nestled
    together like a clutch of tiny green pumpkins on the ground.

    IMG_2476

     A
    storm-blown oak branch, loaded with green acorns held tightly in their
    little wooden cups.
       Colorful fungi took center stage in the woods
    drama that post-storm afternoon. Delicate miniature trumpets in
    jack-o-lantern colors.

    IMG_2352

    Creamy clam-shells, with carefully drawn arching
    stripes of brown, trimming a fallen log.

    round fungi

    A living tree serving as host
    to a battalion of white fungal half-circles marching up and down its
    trunk. Toadstools skirted in rusty-red with yellow petticoats — beige
    mushrooms sprinkled with darker brown, like nutmeg on custard —
    browny-orange flowers of fungi ruffling over a fallen log —

    orange fungi log

     spindly
    stalks as yellow as egg-yolk reaching upward — delicate white stag-horn
    stems, growing in a coral-like bundle on the forest floor.

    IMG_2361

       I delight
    in each new sign of fall I see. Watching the seasons shift has always
    been a joy to me, and I never can decide which change I welcome more —
    the one from summer to autumn, or from winter to spring.
       This time
    of year, I'm compelled to watch carefully. There's a dogwood tree in
    front of the Harrison schools’ Central Office I've been keeping my eye
    on for several weeks, ever since it started showing rusty-red in
    August, long before I spotted new color on any of its brothers and
    sisters. When I drive past Maplewood Cemetery on my way to church, I
    spy patches of orange and even red already showing in a maple tree here
    and there. I gather these small proofs that fall is really and truly
    arriving, and paste them into a mental scrapbook that for some reason
    gives me great satisfaction.
       Why is it so gratifying, to watch the
    seasons change? I think part of the reason is because it reassures us
    that the more things change, the more they remain the same, as the
    French proverb goes.
       We delight in change, and yet, underneath that change, we like for there to be things we can rely on to remain the same.
        Like
    a child who insists that the Christmas tree always be put up in the
    same corner from year to year, we like for there to be some certainties
    we can count on.
       Hurricanes may rage and whip up the waves on the
    Gulf of Mexico, but the tides still ebb and flow on the same eternal
    schedule they've always followed, obedient to the powerful tug of the
    moon, regardless of the drama being played out on the surface of the
    sea.
       It's a fresh season, a brand-new autumn — and yet we can know
    that the maples will always flame out at the cemetery, and pansies and
    mums will appear at roadside stands and in pots on front porches, and
    the dogwood leaves will turn rusty. The hickory nuts and walnuts will
    fall. Continuity in the midst of transition.
       Things change in our
    lives. Some delight, and some are hard for us to bear. Babies are born.
    Loved ones die. Jobs disappear. New careers begin. Storms destroy.
    Couples fall in love. Marriages end. Trees fall. New homes are built.
    Sons and daughters go off to war. Families move from place to place. A
    child starts to school. New presidents are elected.
       But no matter
    what happens in our lives, underneath the surface changes, the great
    wheel of the year still turns, just like it always has. Winter melts
    into spring. Spring blossoms into summer. Summer glows into fall. Fall
    freezes into winter.
       Our planet revolves around the sun. Days grow shorter. Leaves burn with color. The year tips downhill.
       And Life goes on, cupped gently in the loving Hands of the One who started the wheel turning.

    "Great is Thy faithfulness, O God my Father;
    There is no shadow of turning with Thee.
    Thou changest not, Thy compassions, they fail not.
    As Thou hast been thou forever wilt be.
    Great is Thy faithfulness! Great is Thy faithfulness!
    Morning by morning new mercies I see;
    All I have needed Thy hand hath provided
    Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord unto me.
    Summer and winter and spring-time and harvest,
    Sun, moon and stars in their courses above
    Join with all nature in manifold witness
    To Thy great faithfulness, mercy and love."
    (Thomas. O. Chisholm)

    By Celia DeWoody
    Copyright 2008 Harrison Daily Times
    Harrison, Arkansas
    Published Sept. 17, 2008

     

Comments (14)

  • I love that hymn; have it memorized. Loved your thoughts on fall, as well. We do love the seasons changing, but don't love winter, so autumn is a mixed blessing. Chill evenings are wonderful.

  • Your columns always have a way of bringing tears to my eyes; you touch and stir the deep parts of my heart, and remind me anew what a gift it is to be alive. What a heart you have, and what a talent for expressing it. And your camera eye ain't so bad either! I love that first picture of the two leaves in the puddle. Fall is here, and I am so glad!

  • What a neat way to start my day! A walk with a "poet" through the Ozarks.

  • I've just had words spinning through my head the last few days, about fall approaching, and the one that keeps coming up is "golden." Fall just has this golden feel about it. Your essay is simply beautiful, as are your pictures. My favorite line in this one? It's hard to choose because they are all so evocative, but I love "toadstools skirted in rusty-red with yellow petticoats." That is divine! This is MY season, too, and I love it best when we're having it. Now, ask me in spring, and I'll tell you that is the best. And isn't it so good to love the season we're in, right in the moment? Hooray for Golden Autumn!

  • I love your post, so well written!  Simply beautiful!  And like ozarksfarmgirl said, I can't choose a favorite photo, they are all so good!  I love marveling in God's creation!

  • I love your nature pictures! I have a great passion for nature, thanks to my mom, and I love looking at nature photos. And as always, I so enjoy your writings!

  • I have been watching the sumac turning to a bright red and the poison ivy is changing also.  The walnut trees are the first to loose their golden leaves.  I love fall.  The cooler weather, sweat shirts, fires in the fire place.  Hunting season.     enjoyed your post.  Fall is here in the Ozarks.  Dawn

  • Celia, you should publish a book.  Your photos are stunning; and your poetic writing in this piece is simply breathtaking.  I would give you a dozen eProps if I could.  Since I can't...2 thumbs up!

  • Wonderful pictures and descriptions! I really enjoyed this.  We have Autumn, too, of course... but I have to say so far it's been a great deal duller and wetter than this. But one thing you can rely on UK-wise... the weather is SURE to change!!

  • Thank you for stopping by my site, and thank you for your kinds words about my quilting. I hope you enjoy your weekend too. Love all your pics. My kids say I'm a fool for fungus and that I'll snap a shot of one before a flower.... well.... maybe, lol.

  • How did you know about the White Stag-horn? Vivid photography! Awesome.

  • @felgild - 

    I just made that name up because it looks like a white version of a big green staghorn fern we have in a basket!

  • Yeah, there is a stag horn sumac.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *