December 18, 2008

  • Yesterday was my Mama’s birthday. She would’ve
    turned 75 if she were still living on this side of the River. Now she’s
    living in a place where life is not measured in years, but is ladled
    out in big dollops of joy.

    I wish you could’ve known her, because
    you would’ve loved her. And she would’ve loved getting to come up here
    to see us in our new hometown in the Ozarks and getting to know some of
    you.

    How can I describe Mama to you?
    Well, I can tell you what
    she looked like ... In her last years, wizened from osteoporosis and
    lung disease, she didn’t weigh 90 pounds soaking wet. But when I was a
    little girl, she was a true beauty, tall and very slender, with
    light-brown hair and green eyes and skin like silk — and the most
    perfect nose I’ve ever seen.

    When I was young and living in an old
    family home in our little Mississippi town, a man I’d never met knocked
    on my back door one morning. He turned out to be a native of the town,
    a relative of my in-laws who was at that time a well-known neurosurgeon
    in Memphis. While we were visiting, he  realized who my mother was.
    “Lucile Adams was the most beautiful girl who ever grew up in Macon,”
    he assured me very solemnly.

    I don’t know about that, but I do know
    she was voted “Most Beautiful” all four years at Macon High School.
    When I found the old annuals at her mother’s house and asked her about
    it, she just grinned and said, “Honey, this is a little town — there
    wasn’t much competition.”

    Mama college

    As beautiful as she was, Mama wasn’t the
    least bit vain. I can just see her, putting on her makeup as she walked
    through the house, slathering drugstore foundation over her cheeks and
    dabbing on a little lipstick without even looking in the mirror.

    She
    loved pretty clothes, but hated to shop, so she might have on something
    pretty and stylish, or she was just as liable to have on a pair of
    faded denim “pedal-pushers” and some beat-up white Keds.

    I can tell
    you what she collected. Santa Clauses. White china angels.
    Christmas-tree ornaments. R. S. Prussian china. Cranberry glass.
    Letters and cards from her children. Pictures of her family.

    I can
    tell you what she was good at. Telling funny stories, usually making
    fun of herself. Writing letters full of colorful details about our
    family’s lives, brimming with love and encouragement. Growing things.
    Perfectly folding an unwieldy fitted sheet. Matting and framing
    pictures. Decorating for Christmas. Making pecan pie and cornbread
    dressing and potato salad and the best fried chicken in the world.

    I
    can tell you what she didn’t like. Going very far away from home,
    wherever that happened to be at the time. Mushrooms. People who hurt
    her children.

    I can tell you a few things that will give you an idea of what kind of person she was.
    She
    took stray kids into her heart and into her home. When my younger
    brother and sisters were still at home, my folks were living in the DC
    suburbs. Mama took in a succession of their friends, kids whose parents
    had moved away before graduation, or who weren’t getting along with
    their families. They all adored Mama, and never forgot her. They knew
    she loved them.

    One of her special kids was a black boy named
    Curtis, who had been a friend of my brother’s in junior high school.
    Curtis, who lived with his grandmother, had a hard life. Mama took up
    time listening to him, and he knew he was always welcome at her house.
    Curtis went down the wrong road, and ended up in prison for selling
    drugs, but he stayed in touch with her. He would call Mama collect from
    prison when he needed encouragement, because he knew she loved him and
    was praying for him. He would send her cards on Mother’s Day.

    I
    can tell you what she loved ... She loved to laugh. She loved pie. She
    loved birds, especially redbirds. She loved flowers. She loved pretty
    antique china. She loved the old comedian, Jonathan Winters. She adored
    babies, and could get a fussing little one to settle down with a magic
    touch that I’m thankful to have inherited. She loved Christmastime. She
    loved her children and grandchildren, her family and her friends. And
    even though they were divorced after 30 years, and he married twice
    more before his death, she never stopped loving my Daddy.

    I can tell you a few of the memories of my mother I treasure most.
    Mama
    trying to teach us how to “Beat the Hambone,” a syncopated, rhythmic
    clapping, foot-tapping game she had learned from her black friends on
    the Mississippi farm when she was a little girl. Mama sitting at the
    breakfast table in about 1963, teaching me how to play jacks, scooping
    up the little metal stars so quickly you almost couldn’t see her
    slender hand. Mama holding my babies, looking into their eyes like they
    were windows into Heaven. Mama listening to me on the phone, laughing
    her wonderful, infectious laugh. Mama reading “The Three Billy Goats
    Gruff” to my little nephew Ben. Mama in her hospital bed, patting my
    hand, opening her green eyes to look at me and give me her sweet smile
    and tell me she loved me one more time.

    Mama’s unconditional love
    was something we could always count on. No matter what mistakes we
    made, or how we might have disappointed her, we always knew we could
    count on her to believe in us, to be on our side, to pray for us, and
    to never stop loving us.

    I believe Mama’s still doing all those things for her children.
    -----
    By Celia DeWoody
    Copyright 2008 Harrison (Ark.) Daily Times
    Published Dec. 17, 2008







Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *