December 28, 2008

  • Doyle and I went on one of the best hikes we've made since moving to the Ozarks today. We drove about an hour south of Harrison to the King's Bluff Loop Trail in the Ozark National Forest, between Pelsor and Ben Hur, Arkansas. It was a sunny blue day, 45 degrees, just perfect hiking weather. We love winter hiking in the Ozarks (no ticks and chiggers!) because you can see so far when the leaves are off the trees and it's just the bare bones of the landscape.
    This hike had it all ... two waterfalls ... great rock formations ... gurgling creeks ... great views of the hills ... not a power line or housetop in sight, just wild old hills. Wonderful.
    If you're interested in coming along on our hike with us, I'm going to post the slideshow above right.

    Here's a preview:

    doyle and hag on bluff

Comments (4)

  • Although I've tried to see it, for some reason I haven't been able to access your xanga site with my dratted old dial-up connection. Right now, I'm on another computer and can actually see and read your blog. I love the one you wrote about your mama on her birthday, and I love what you wrote about your full heart at Christmas. You have such a way of making everything vividly clear to your readers, creating colorful mental images.

    And now I've tried to find your link to picassa to see the pix of this hike, but it just doesn't seem visible. Guess I'm just not too good at this....but I can see the hike in my mind because we've made it! Two years ago Stan and I hiked out to King's Bluff, and I have good pix of our day, too. Like yours, ours was a blue-sky, crystal-clear hike into wonderful, unspoiled wilderness. Wish I was there right this minute, looking out over the waves of tree-studded hills, soaking in the blessing that is the beauty of the Ozarks. So glad you found that lovely, perfect place.

    Hope your week goes well, the papers come together effortlessly and you can have a nice, well-deserved day off on Thursday, at least for most of the day!

    Love, Jan

  • You had a happy time in making this hike in the Ozarks and I read the comment above which says the all I would be able to say . Jan is an inabtant of this place , apparently .
    I read also your Christmas post and I understand your joy but also other mixed feelings since I had the same ones  . Someone was missing at our Christmas gathering , a young people who was there a year ago and passed away last Frebruary at the age of 34, our daughter in law .
     There are always some clouds in the blue sky.

    Love

    Michel

  • I wish to you a happy New Year
    Michel

  • Enjoyed the hike.  I'm just beginning to use Picasa  so am going to have lots of questions.  May have to come to your site to find out things.  Wish g-son wasn't so far away so that he could keep me up and running and learning.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *