November 5, 2008

  •   ‘Freedom has a taste’

      I'm
    writing this column on Election Day morning, one week before Veterans
    Day. As I write, I'm wearing a bracelet I haven't worn in a long time.

      The
    bracelet feels very familiar on my left wrist, because it's one I wore
    every day for four years. I got it when I was in the ninth grade, and I
    didn't stop wearing it until 1973, just before I graduated from high
    school.

      It's not a pretty piece of jewelry —  flat and
    silver-colored, made out of some kind of cheap metal. The silver paint
    on the inside is completely rubbed away from being worn for so long. It
    has no decorations, just some words and numbers in block type:

     “CDR RENDER CRAYTON 2-7-66”

      It's
    a POW bracelet, made to be worn in honor of Americans being held
    prisoner by the North Vietnamese. To remind us to pray for them and
    their families. To help us remember that brave men were being held
    captive by our enemies. To remind us that freedom has a price. That War
    has a face.

     We wore the bracelets with the commitment that we would continue to wear them until our prisoners were released.
    I'm
    wearing this bracelet again today for several reasons. The first is
    because I'm hoping and praying that another Vietnam-era Navy pilot,
    another former prisoner of war, will be, by the time you read this, our
    new president-elect.

      The second, is because I feel a connection to
    Capt. Crayton. You kind of feel like you know somebody when you wear
    their name around your wrist — and pray for them — for four years.

      And
    the third, and probably most powerful reason, is because the POW
    bracelet reminds me of my father. Today, when the eyes of the world are
    on two men, one of them a Vietnam-era Naval aviator like my dad, my
    mind is much on my late father, the veteran of three combat tours.
    While flying his RA5-C Vigilante over enemy territory, he could easily
    have been shot down, like his comrade John McCain was, like many of his
    friends were. Like my best friend Diana's father was. Unlike my dad,
    John McCain and Render Crayton, Diana’s daddy never came home.

      Up
    until this morning, all I knew about Crayton was that he was a Navy
    pilot who had been shot down and captured by the Vietnamese, and that
    he had been one of those who came home alive.

      Because I found the
    worn old bracelet in a drawer this morning, I was curious to learn more
    about the man whose name it bears. I did a Google search on “Render
    Crayton,” and soon found myself reading a feature story published Oct.
    11 in the Idaho Statesman, by a reporter named Dan Popkey. Then I found
    a second story, based on another interview Popkey did with Crayton,
    this one about his friend and fellow prisoner, John McCain.

      I
    learned that Crayton was McCain’s advanced-flight instructor for four
    months in Corpus Christi before the war. They also spent several months
    together in a 40-man cellblock in the infamous prison, the Hanoi
    Hilton. Crayton knew McCain well. He’s supporting him for president.

      A
    native Southerner, Render Crayton was born in North Carolina in 1933,
    the same year Daddy was born in Mississippi. His Navy career spanned 30
    years, including the seven he spent as a prisoner of war in North
    Vietnam. Flying an A-4 Skyhawk based on the USS Ticonderoga, he was
    shot down Feb. 7, 1966 — the date on my bracelet. After he ejected from
    his wounded jet, he broke his right shoulder, which never healed
    correctly because of lack of treatment.

      From the ground, in enemy
    territory, he radioed the other planes in his flight and gave his
    position, and two of his fellow A-4s strafed the area around where he
    had landed, trying to protect him from the North Vietnamese. A
    helicopter was dispatched to go pick him up, but it was slow in
    arriving. Worried that they would run out of fuel, Crayton asked that
    the fighters patrolling the area to protect him go back to safety.

     By
    the time the rescue helicopter finally arrived, his parachute was still
    there, but Crayton was gone —  captured by the enemy. The young pilot
    spent the next two years in solitary confinement. He was imprisoned for
    a total of seven years in camps in and around Hanoi. During that time,
    like John McCain, he was brutally tortured by his captors.

    Along with McCain and about 600 other prisoners of war, Crayton was finally released in 1973.
      I'll
    never forget when the prisoners were released. I was a senior in high
    school in Portsmouth, Rhode Island. Our family gathered around the TV
    to watch news coverage of the first POWs getting off the big C-141As
    that had brought them to Clark Air Force base in the Philippines.

      They
    emerged one by one from the door of the plane, emaciated and pale, and
    walked, as straight and tall as they could with their improperly healed
    broken bones, down the steps, and proudly saluted the American military
    men waiting for them. I’ll never forget watching one of the frail
    former POWs gingerly kneel on the hot runway and kiss the concrete of
    the U. S. base, overcome with joy at being once again on American soil.

      I
    watched with tears running down my cheeks. I still can't watch or read
    anything about prisoners of war without getting very emotional. These
    men were my dad’s comrades-in-arms. These were men like the pilots I
    had grown up around, like the fathers of my friends, our neighbors on
    the Navy bases where I grew up.

      I’m so happy to know now that
    retired Navy Captain Render Crayton is alive and well and living in
    Ketchum, Idaho. I’d love to be able to talk to him. I’d love to be able
    to thank him. But for today, I’ll just wear his bracelet one more time,
    in tribute to him and to the other brave men like him. Men like John
    McCain. Men like my father.

    “Freedom has a taste to those who fought
    and almost died for it, that the protected shall never know.”

     (Written
    by an unknown author on a cell wall in the Hanoi Hilton)

    By Celia DeWoody
    Copyright 2008 Harrison (Ark.) Daily Times
    Published Nov. 5, 2008

    Daddy in cockpit-low




Comments (6)

  • Very touching, Celia. I am sorry that McCain lost; I'm not sure what it says about America, but at least in this war, it seems like people haven't forgotten the men and women who are fighting.

    You have such a tender heart!

  • Beautifully written So sad that Americans would elect someone just because of color. I hope that they aren't so infatuated with him that they don't keep an eye on his activities during the coming months. He is such a scary person and the people he associates with are much scarier than he is. They are the "brains" behind the puppet. I hope everyone keeps their antenna up.

  • I remember watching the TV (as a ten year old) as the POWs got back to America.  I didn't understand it at the time, but I was glad they were back.  As an adult, I can only imagine the things those men went through during the time as prisoners- horrendous.  My respect goes out to those courageous men- to McCain... and to the one whose bracelet you wore as well (neat connection!). 

  • What a wonderful story! I'm just now getting to read it (been having xanga troubles) but it is still very meaningful, even though it is post-election. What an amazing connection you discovered with your bracelet! You should contact Render Crayton and send him your story....it would mean a great deal to him, I know. That bracelet is a real heirloom....print your story out and attach the bracelet to it, so that someday your little granddaughter will read it and be amazed by it. This should NOT be forgotten.

  • I wore one of those bracelets for years( much to my mother's chagrin - she always worried what it looked like with my Sunday dresses!). I wish I knew what happened to the bracelet and to the man whose name it bore. Glad you still have yours. Love, Cyn

  • I still have my POW bracelet  too, Capt Melvin Ladwig, I also wish I knew how to get ahold of his family.   I wonder if he made it out.   Thanks for sharing your story.   Dawn 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *