November 7, 2008

Comments (8)

  • Celia, I just read your previous post, and I don't mind telling you that I'm typing this while fighting back a few tears. Very well done. Have you thought about sending that column to your POW's hometown newspaper in Idaho?

  • Nothing earth shattering. Tomorrow night is the local Christian School's hog roast so we will have supper there. Church on Sunday. Other than that haven't a clue what the weekend will bring. Colder temps I believe but hopefully the rains will hold off 'til Monday so those with plans can carry them through. Wil is battling another cold...what is with this? We never have colds and sore throats and this is his second round. My throat is "scratchy" too so I accused him of "sharing". He informed me he hadn't been close enough to get any enjoyment out of the sharing! I know TMI!!! lol

  • Went to see Fireproof with Alison and our pastor and wife -- a daring idea: double dating with the pastoring couple. Interesting movie; prompted lots of thoughts. Today? I don't know. Since I'm up again at 4:30, I guess I have a fair amount of time to decide. Tomorrow is another class to teach, which seems to dominate the landscape of each week.

    Thanks for asking!

  • btw, love the new picture!

  • I love the new picture, too!  It's beautiful of you, and it has a beautiful background.

    I've been thinking of you often this past week; you've been gently reminding me to turn my camera on the gorgeous leaves, and I've gotten some beautiful closeups before they all blew off the trees yesterday. 

    This weekend, we have absolutely no plans at all.  Amos was in Las Vegas working all week, and now that he's back, he understandably does not want to do anything or go anywhere.  I suspect he will even want to do some housecleaning.  I very considerately left some for him to do.  I'm an understanding wife.

    What are your plans, my friend?

  • @TeaLadyLaine - 

    @TeaLadyLaine - 

    We rode around out in the country before sunset yesterday, just enjoying the pretty sky. I just sat in front of the mindless TV with my laptop last night, reading this and that...I'm reading "The Shack" (have you read it?) so read some more of that before falling asleep. This morning is Housecleaning Time, while Doyle made his weekly trip to take his mom grocery shopping and to do our shopping...I'm feeling a real neat for ACTION, so will soon take our big dog for a long walk. Then maybe up to Springfield for a little early Christmas window shopping! We may go to Mass in Springfield this evening - if not, here in the morning. Have a lovely weekend..and post some of your leaf photos!

  • @avarel - 

    I hadn't thought about sending that column to Capt Crayton's paper...one of my friends here, the retired superintendent of education, left me a voice mail the other day saying, "I had hoped to surprise you by having Render Crayton call you!" but he wasn't able to get a number for him. I've emailed the reporter out there who wrote the story, but he has so far ungraciously ignored that email from a colleague in Arkansas!
    btw, Buz, I just obliquely heard about Outdoor closing (my Beacon has lapsed) - when did that happen? What a huge impact on Noxubee County!

  • Yep, Outdoor closed. Actually, it wasn't just the Outdoor Technologies here...all of their plants (about 6 I think) closed. Also, Shuqualak Lumber laid off approximately half of their work force. Trailboss has laid off about half of theirs, too. So, Noxubee County has not been spared during the economic downturn.

    And, as far as what I'm doing for the remainder of the weekend (Sunday), I'm prepping for a colonoscopy that I'm having at 6:30 AM Monday. So, tomorrow should be loads of fun. I'll be hanging around the house, for sure.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *