January 12, 2009

  • Hey, friends,

    We didn't make any adventurous treks this weekend, mainly because it was my turn to edit the Sunday paper, so I had to work Saturday. But I got through early, in time for us to go to Saturday evening Mass, then go out to dinner, which was nice.

    Sunday I worked around the house and then got out in the yard, which I just LOVE! This new yard is two-and-a-half lots big, a corner lot, and has all kinds of old beds and rock retaining walls and beds that have been framed off and then neglected for years. We'll spend the rest of our lives (I hope!) transforming it into our dream yard - but I already love it. It has one old dogwood tree, and two big maples, and a HUGE, ancient elm tree. And a row of four black walnuts along one side, and a little grove of pine trees ... and I've identified a forsythia bus and a row of spirea, I think, along the driveway (hard to tell in the dead of winter!) I can't wait to see what bulbs come up on this property that has been a yard since the house was built, we think, in 1894.

    What did y'all do over the weekend?

Comments (8)

  • It's my birthday tomorrow so after church Dennis took me Sunday out to a new fancy pretty (I love the architecture) shopping center and to dinner too.  We had a very nice time.  Saturday I rested a bit then went to my son's house.  Tomorrow I'm playing hookey from work so i can a)rest to try and calm seasonal allergies that get in my chest, and b) do something nice for myself (maybe with my daughter, haven't talked to her yet) for my birthday.. maybe get a manicure, or go to Disneyland (you get in free on your birthday), or SOMEthing.

    Today I had to register for a class toward my credential...  I'll be SO happy when I'm done! 

    Sounds like things are going well with you, I'm so happy to hear you love your new old house!

    Love, Gerrie

  • Wow, your new design really POPS! Love those dots!

    Sounds like you may not have to do too much planting, with the things you already have growing in your yard. Maybe just cleaning up and sprucing up beds, etc.

    Our weekend was quiet...a meeting with dear friends on Saturday morning, took Sus and family to a Mexican restaurant for supper Saturday night (bonus: got to cuddle with Addie and play with Wyatt and his 'quipment for an hour before we left), took the moms out for lunch after Sunday school (hooray...we made it!) and church, watched some football, knitted on a new purse, rejoiced in the work I accomplished last week and planned what I hope to get done this week. It was not exciting but all good.  :)

  • Nursed a sinus event. I believe I've just about got it whipped!

  • Wow I love old yards like that, there are probably tons of beautiful flowers that will come up...enjoy!

  • You will enjoy watching your yard unfold this spring.  It's too cold here in Indiana to do anything other than drool over flower catalogs.

  • You are SO encouraging to me.  You always bring a smile to my face when I read your comments on my post.  Blessings to you in return, friend!

  • Oh dear, sorry to say I caught The Bug and stayed in bed a few days. Nice to read about your new house.... and see the new 'wallpaper' on your blog... very colourful!

  • What a joy to discover your future garden of Eden , Caelia . I imagine this romantic one .
    However take care to the walnut trees . They give much shadow and multiply themselves everywhere quickly via the walnuts .
    You speak of Mass . i went to, in this morning of Sunday .
    Love

    Michel

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *