January 19, 2009

  • I've been spending any spare minutes I've had working out in our yard at Squirrels' Leap. Working outside in the fresh (COLD!) air and sunshine, I'm falling more and more in love with our beautiful Ozarks and with our new home.

    At the end of our driveway was an ugly, mostly dead juniper shrub, hiding some old iris bulbs...

    IMG_5092

    With a loan of brute strength from my big strong husband for a few minutes, I managed to grub out the juniper and salvage the iris, hopefully to soon be transplanted to a new comfy bed...

    cleaned-out bed


    Iris bulbs ...

    IMG_5094

    Bare brown winter bushes now, but a hedge of white spirea once early spring arrives!

    IMG_5098

    I raked pinestraw and piled it on the front beds, where I hope to get some azaleas established one day...

    front bed with pinestraw
    Random shots around Squirrels' Leap:

    elm tree 3

    IMG_5109

    north side

    Do you enjoy working in your yard or garden? Are you able to do any outside work this winter?

Comments (6)

  • Celia, have you seen your house in the spring?  If not, won't it be fun to discover what comes up?  Maybe you're knowledgeable about plants and flowers to know what to expect.  I love the first early spring in a new house, when the beauty of the garden unfolds.  How's Doyle doing with the job search?  And give us an update on the ghost!

  • I worked outside today, and I did NOT have fun. It's simply too cold.

  • I love to work in the yard and hope that this year will bring forth new growth and a new lawn as ours is in dyer need of grass...lols. I would love to see yours come spring.

  • Be sure not to do too much pulling up of anything that you aren't sure is dead and gone.  Someone we know planned to cut down "brush" around a new place and thank heaven they waited later than they expected to and had a gazillion Redbud trees blooming.  Way too cold to do yard work here.

  • I love to work in my yard, but since I'm outside most of the days when it's warm, I enjoy spending winter inside, doing things that don't get done any other time...like cleaning closets, organizing my desk, painting a room or just sewing. Those projects NEVER get done in the busy spring-summertime for me. In fact, I just love a snowy day when I CANNOT get outside....forced to stay in and do inside things. Those few-and-far-between days feel like a gift to me!

  • It is freezing outside here in Indiana.  Other than darting between car and buildings, I stay indoors trying to stay warm.  Yard work will wait for warmer weather...it's not going anywhere!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *