November 29, 2008

  • Our own little piece of God's country

        Writing
    about gratitude is a good and healthy exercise for me (and I suspect
    for most of us), making me discipline my mind and point it toward the
    things I have to be grateful for, rather than letting my thoughts run
    in frenzied circles on its hamster wheel, hollering, “I have so much to
    do and not enough time to do it in!”

       I have much, much to be
    thankful for this year. Topping the list are all the dear people in my
    life — my husband, my two boys, my three little sisters and their
    families, my brother, my DeWoody in-laws, my kinfolks, my widespread
    friends.

       Good health — something I usually take for granted — is
    also at the top of my list of “Thank you’s.” My own good health, and
    that of my husband and family, is one of our biggest gifts, and one I
    am very grateful for this week. We have close friends who are
    struggling with serious illnesses in their families, and as my heart
    goes out to them and I pray for them, it makes me once again aware of
    what a blessing it is that we currently don’t have anyone in the
    hospital or the nursing home or the Hospice House.

       My Sunday School
    teacher at the Methodist Church in Mississippi used to tell us, “If
    you’re not in the middle of a crisis right now, you will be soon, so
    enjoy the peaceful interlude while you can, and be grateful for it.”

       I
    AM grateful for our health, and for our families and friends, for our
    church, for our jobs, for our pets, for our adopted hometown of
    Harrison, for our adopted homeland in the Ozarks. I am so thankful that
    our good Father led us to this lovely place full of warm, caring people.

       Along
    with all of these blessings is a new one that has just been given to us
    in the past few weeks, and it is a big, big blessing: We’ve bought a
    house in Harrison!

       We once felt a little bit like old Father
    Abraham, leaving most of our kinfolks behind in south Florida and
    moving up here “unto a land that He showed us.” But our roots are
    growing deeper and deeper into this rich, rocky soil.

       Ever since we
    moved up here three years ago, Doyle and I have been looking for just
    the right house for us, keeping in mind that the time might come when
    it was the right thing for everybody for Doyle’s mom, Ruby, to move in
    with us.

       We’ve talked about living in the country. We’ve talked
    about living in town. We’ve talked about building in the country. We’ve
    talked about building in town. We’ve looked at houses. We’ve driven out
    into the hills and dreamed. We’ve sketched out house plans.

       But none of these seemed just exactly right.
       I’m
    the kind of person who operates from the heart rather than from the
    head, and I’ve always told Doyle, “I think when the time is right,
    we’ll just KNOW what to do. When our house comes along, we’ll know it
    when we see it.”

       In order to understand the rest of this story from
    my point of view, you need to know my background with houses. As a
    little girl, I moved almost every year of my life, from Navy base to
    Navy base. Most of the houses we lived in had nondescript wall-to-wall
    carpet and popcorn ceilings and tiny bedrooms and flimsy doors.

       My
    life’s other important houses were all old ones. My grandmother Poppy’s
    house in Mississippi, built in the 1850s. My great-grandparents’ home
    right on the beach in Gulfport, built in the late 1800s. My boys’
    grandparents’ farmhouse in Mississippi, built right after the Civil
    War. And then, the house that I loved (and sometimes hated) for almost
    20 years, my very own old Mississippi house, the one I raised my boys
    in. Probably begun in the mid-1800s and added onto throughout the
    years, it had a wrap-around front porch and tall windows and high
    ceilings and porcelain doorknobs and heart-pine floors and a huge
    cast-iron, claw-foot tub (and drafts and no insulation and hardly any
    closets ... but we loved it.)

       So when you say “Home” to me, I see a
    big old white house with lots of steps up to the front porch. I can’t
    help it. New houses, as beautiful as they can be, just don’t feel like
    home to me.

       Every time we’ve driven by a tall old white house, my heart has yearned.
       Doyle’s
    never been as in love with the idea of an old house as I have, being of
    a more practical mindset when it comes to things like leaking faucets
    and uneven floors and lack of insulation in attics.

       But a couple of
    weeks ago, he was reading the classified page in the Sunday Times and
    spotted an ad for an old home on South Maple Street. We looked it up
    online, and recognized a house we’ve driven by many times and admired.

       Well,
    we went to look at it, and something magical happened. It was just like
    I had imagined. When we walked around the house and the yard, we just
    knew. Doyle, too. And Ruby. This was meant to be our house. It was
    whispering to us — just like Harrison had on our first visit almost
    four years ago — “Welcome home.”

      Heart-pine floors. Porcelain
    doorknobs. Tall, double-hung windows. A big old cast-iron bathtub.
    Upstairs bedrooms with slanting walls. Interesting nooks and crannies.
    A place for Doyle’s woodshop. A huge yard with big trees, a sunny spot
    for a garden — and an Ozarks dogwood to bloom next to our side porch
    next spring.

      We’ll be moving very soon to our very own little piece of our beloved Ozarks. Praise God from Whom all blessings flow!

    By Celia DeWoody
    Published Nov. 26, 2008, Harrison (Ark.)  Daily Times
    Copyright 2008 CPI, Inc.

    house front



















Comments (7)

  • Good post....cute house. And when we do get our house I then have to "see" a color in the various rooms. Since I always tend to go neutral colors what we are doing in the upstairs is unusual for me. One bedroom red, one yellow and pale pale blue in the hall to match some wallpaper that is staying. The red one is done and it is a STATEMENT!

  • Ah... Home is Where the Heart Is, so they say...  I enjoyed your post here.

  • Sounds delighful -- for you. Having lived in a hundred-year-old house for a decade, I never want to do it again. I agree with the charm, but the constant renovations and drafts and leaks and critters were too much for me. But I'm thrilled that you and Doyle and Ruby have such a quaint place to call your own. Sounds like it fits you to a tee: southern charm and beauty.

  • I think I would enjoy your new home. It looks very inviting.
    By the way, I like your profile picture. Your hair cut is lovely, also you have a look of peace and contentment. I can read the print with the red. I guess I am getting old because I could hardly see the yellow print. By the way, red is my favorite color.

  • I drove by your house on Eighth St. during the peak of leaf color around here, and the trees in your front yard were lovely. I'm sure you will love this house just like you loved all the others.

  • That post of mine that looked all wacky was html code that I thought had been deleted. I was trying to post a video. It has now been deleted and replaced with a new more conventional post.

  • I would say that you are indeed a fortunate woman whose blessings are many.  You are wise to count them daily.  - April

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *