January 31, 2009

  • I have a Picasa web album of ice storm photos, but can't remember where to paste in the code for the slideshow when I'm using themes - help! My memory is apparently going fast ... I just did this a month or so ago. Yikes.

    Here's a photo or two:

    An empty lot down the street on Wednesday:

    ice neighborhood

    Our pergola and part of the roof smashed by falling elm branches...thank the Lord the huge branch over the house didn't fall. Our cars were moved just in time before another huge branch fell in our driveway...

    IMG_5357-1

    icy north side of SL

    IMG_5463-1

    Fire and Ice

    Some say the world will end in fire
    Some say in ice
    From what I've tasted of desire
    I hold with those who favor fire
    But if it had to perish twice
    I think I know enough of hate
    To say that for destruction ice
    Is also great
    And would suffice.

    - Robert Frost

Comments (10)

  • Beauty and danger -- there's a picture of this world!  Though I'm wondering if there'll be cold in the new Earth when God recreates it.  Ice is beautiful, but I can do without it.  I'm sorry about the damage to the house but glad that it wasn't worse for you.  I can remember a few ice storms in the Philly area when my boys were little.  That's one reason why we have a propane camping stove now.  Be safe, friend!

  • I'm so glad you didn't have more damage to your home than the outside thingy and that you have electricity.  

  • Wow, that looks really bad! Guess you have power back. So are you still having some of those strange noises in your house? God bless!!

  • Hello Ms. Annie,
    You made your site simple yet elegant. The pictures are a nice touch. I see that you have a wide variety of interesting observations here!
    I’m sending an important message to people from Jehovah God that is in the Bible"The wise men are put to shame, they are dismayed and taken: lo, they have rejected the word of Jehovah; and what manner of wisdom is in them? (Jeremiah 8:9) (ASV)

  • The ice pictures are beautiful but ice also creates so much damage! I'm glad you didn't have any more damage.

  • The ice is so beautiful but can be so very destructive.  What a shame about your pergola...and that was my favorite spot in your yard.  -April

  • @AprilsPlace - We plan to  rebuild our pergola...it was what first caught my eye about this house! I had hoped to plant a climbing yellow rose on it this spring. Hope that will come true!

  • @anniemockingbird - I couldn't imagine that you wouldn't rebuild.  At least it will be an easier project than if the tree had crashed onto your roof!  And on the bright side, now you can select all the new plantings around it...come on rose bush!

  • Goodness, that tree did some damage there. Amazing what this frozen stuff can do sometimes! But how beautiful it all looks... lovely photos!

  • The first picture makes me think of a iced lace . But the following shows a disaster wich could be worse ( car , house )  . The last is so refreshing and goes well withFrost poem . . Frost is the name .

    Love

    Michel

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *