Month: November 2008

  • Our own little piece of God's country

        Writing
    about gratitude is a good and healthy exercise for me (and I suspect
    for most of us), making me discipline my mind and point it toward the
    things I have to be grateful for, rather than letting my thoughts run
    in frenzied circles on its hamster wheel, hollering, “I have so much to
    do and not enough time to do it in!”

       I have much, much to be
    thankful for this year. Topping the list are all the dear people in my
    life — my husband, my two boys, my three little sisters and their
    families, my brother, my DeWoody in-laws, my kinfolks, my widespread
    friends.

       Good health — something I usually take for granted — is
    also at the top of my list of “Thank you’s.” My own good health, and
    that of my husband and family, is one of our biggest gifts, and one I
    am very grateful for this week. We have close friends who are
    struggling with serious illnesses in their families, and as my heart
    goes out to them and I pray for them, it makes me once again aware of
    what a blessing it is that we currently don’t have anyone in the
    hospital or the nursing home or the Hospice House.

       My Sunday School
    teacher at the Methodist Church in Mississippi used to tell us, “If
    you’re not in the middle of a crisis right now, you will be soon, so
    enjoy the peaceful interlude while you can, and be grateful for it.”

       I
    AM grateful for our health, and for our families and friends, for our
    church, for our jobs, for our pets, for our adopted hometown of
    Harrison, for our adopted homeland in the Ozarks. I am so thankful that
    our good Father led us to this lovely place full of warm, caring people.

       Along
    with all of these blessings is a new one that has just been given to us
    in the past few weeks, and it is a big, big blessing: We’ve bought a
    house in Harrison!

       We once felt a little bit like old Father
    Abraham, leaving most of our kinfolks behind in south Florida and
    moving up here “unto a land that He showed us.” But our roots are
    growing deeper and deeper into this rich, rocky soil.

       Ever since we
    moved up here three years ago, Doyle and I have been looking for just
    the right house for us, keeping in mind that the time might come when
    it was the right thing for everybody for Doyle’s mom, Ruby, to move in
    with us.

       We’ve talked about living in the country. We’ve talked
    about living in town. We’ve talked about building in the country. We’ve
    talked about building in town. We’ve looked at houses. We’ve driven out
    into the hills and dreamed. We’ve sketched out house plans.

       But none of these seemed just exactly right.
       I’m
    the kind of person who operates from the heart rather than from the
    head, and I’ve always told Doyle, “I think when the time is right,
    we’ll just KNOW what to do. When our house comes along, we’ll know it
    when we see it.”

       In order to understand the rest of this story from
    my point of view, you need to know my background with houses. As a
    little girl, I moved almost every year of my life, from Navy base to
    Navy base. Most of the houses we lived in had nondescript wall-to-wall
    carpet and popcorn ceilings and tiny bedrooms and flimsy doors.

       My
    life’s other important houses were all old ones. My grandmother Poppy’s
    house in Mississippi, built in the 1850s. My great-grandparents’ home
    right on the beach in Gulfport, built in the late 1800s. My boys’
    grandparents’ farmhouse in Mississippi, built right after the Civil
    War. And then, the house that I loved (and sometimes hated) for almost
    20 years, my very own old Mississippi house, the one I raised my boys
    in. Probably begun in the mid-1800s and added onto throughout the
    years, it had a wrap-around front porch and tall windows and high
    ceilings and porcelain doorknobs and heart-pine floors and a huge
    cast-iron, claw-foot tub (and drafts and no insulation and hardly any
    closets ... but we loved it.)

       So when you say “Home” to me, I see a
    big old white house with lots of steps up to the front porch. I can’t
    help it. New houses, as beautiful as they can be, just don’t feel like
    home to me.

       Every time we’ve driven by a tall old white house, my heart has yearned.
       Doyle’s
    never been as in love with the idea of an old house as I have, being of
    a more practical mindset when it comes to things like leaking faucets
    and uneven floors and lack of insulation in attics.

       But a couple of
    weeks ago, he was reading the classified page in the Sunday Times and
    spotted an ad for an old home on South Maple Street. We looked it up
    online, and recognized a house we’ve driven by many times and admired.

       Well,
    we went to look at it, and something magical happened. It was just like
    I had imagined. When we walked around the house and the yard, we just
    knew. Doyle, too. And Ruby. This was meant to be our house. It was
    whispering to us — just like Harrison had on our first visit almost
    four years ago — “Welcome home.”

      Heart-pine floors. Porcelain
    doorknobs. Tall, double-hung windows. A big old cast-iron bathtub.
    Upstairs bedrooms with slanting walls. Interesting nooks and crannies.
    A place for Doyle’s woodshop. A huge yard with big trees, a sunny spot
    for a garden — and an Ozarks dogwood to bloom next to our side porch
    next spring.

      We’ll be moving very soon to our very own little piece of our beloved Ozarks. Praise God from Whom all blessings flow!

    By Celia DeWoody
    Published Nov. 26, 2008, Harrison (Ark.)  Daily Times
    Copyright 2008 CPI, Inc.

    house front



















  • Happy Thanksgiving, friends!
    I'm grateful for each one of you.
    I'm going over to paint at our new(old!) house for a little while, then back to make Scalloped Pineapple to take to our friends' home for Thanksgiving dinner on their farm this afternoon. Doyle's mom Ruby is making her signature cornbread dressing with apples.
    Where will you be having Thanksgiving dinner today, and who will be around your table?

  • Hey, friends!
    I'm ready to change this autumn color scheme over to Christmas!
    I've been snowed under with a big project at work, and starting to pack to move into our new old house! We closed on Thursday, and will be moving in by the end of the first week in December. As it's only three blocks from where we currently live, we're moving things ourselves as we get them packed, and then will get some guys to help move the big stuff.
    We're very excited. Doyle's mom, Ruby, is going to be moving with us. She'll be in a big downstairs bedroom and Doyle and I will be upstairs.
    What a blessing! We have a lot to be grateful for this Thanksgiving.
    What are you especially grateful for this week, my friends?

  • Look what we just bought!

    house front

    house north side

    house south

    Doyle's sweet Mama, Ruby, is going to be living with us, too.

    Thank you, Lord.

    We'll be moving in a couple of weeks!

  • An afternoon drive with my sweetheart on some
    unfamiliar backroads yielded  sights
    that coaxed my camera out of its case:

    Spiral seedpods that looked like some kind of eerie Halloween decorations on a bare tree...


    spiral seedpods

    A 1947 Chrysler Windsor in what was once the yard of
    an abandoned house in the woods...

    old car

    A screen of purple beautyberries in front of the little house...

    berries and house

    Red berries on the roadside...

    IMG_3982

    Our old hills taking on their winter look, with the pastures turning from green to golden-brown velvet after our first frosts...
    fall hills


  • Hey, friends!
    What are y'all planning for the weekend?

  •   ‘Freedom has a taste’

      I'm
    writing this column on Election Day morning, one week before Veterans
    Day. As I write, I'm wearing a bracelet I haven't worn in a long time.

      The
    bracelet feels very familiar on my left wrist, because it's one I wore
    every day for four years. I got it when I was in the ninth grade, and I
    didn't stop wearing it until 1973, just before I graduated from high
    school.

      It's not a pretty piece of jewelry —  flat and
    silver-colored, made out of some kind of cheap metal. The silver paint
    on the inside is completely rubbed away from being worn for so long. It
    has no decorations, just some words and numbers in block type:

     “CDR RENDER CRAYTON 2-7-66”

      It's
    a POW bracelet, made to be worn in honor of Americans being held
    prisoner by the North Vietnamese. To remind us to pray for them and
    their families. To help us remember that brave men were being held
    captive by our enemies. To remind us that freedom has a price. That War
    has a face.

     We wore the bracelets with the commitment that we would continue to wear them until our prisoners were released.
    I'm
    wearing this bracelet again today for several reasons. The first is
    because I'm hoping and praying that another Vietnam-era Navy pilot,
    another former prisoner of war, will be, by the time you read this, our
    new president-elect.

      The second, is because I feel a connection to
    Capt. Crayton. You kind of feel like you know somebody when you wear
    their name around your wrist — and pray for them — for four years.

      And
    the third, and probably most powerful reason, is because the POW
    bracelet reminds me of my father. Today, when the eyes of the world are
    on two men, one of them a Vietnam-era Naval aviator like my dad, my
    mind is much on my late father, the veteran of three combat tours.
    While flying his RA5-C Vigilante over enemy territory, he could easily
    have been shot down, like his comrade John McCain was, like many of his
    friends were. Like my best friend Diana's father was. Unlike my dad,
    John McCain and Render Crayton, Diana’s daddy never came home.

      Up
    until this morning, all I knew about Crayton was that he was a Navy
    pilot who had been shot down and captured by the Vietnamese, and that
    he had been one of those who came home alive.

      Because I found the
    worn old bracelet in a drawer this morning, I was curious to learn more
    about the man whose name it bears. I did a Google search on “Render
    Crayton,” and soon found myself reading a feature story published Oct.
    11 in the Idaho Statesman, by a reporter named Dan Popkey. Then I found
    a second story, based on another interview Popkey did with Crayton,
    this one about his friend and fellow prisoner, John McCain.

      I
    learned that Crayton was McCain’s advanced-flight instructor for four
    months in Corpus Christi before the war. They also spent several months
    together in a 40-man cellblock in the infamous prison, the Hanoi
    Hilton. Crayton knew McCain well. He’s supporting him for president.

      A
    native Southerner, Render Crayton was born in North Carolina in 1933,
    the same year Daddy was born in Mississippi. His Navy career spanned 30
    years, including the seven he spent as a prisoner of war in North
    Vietnam. Flying an A-4 Skyhawk based on the USS Ticonderoga, he was
    shot down Feb. 7, 1966 — the date on my bracelet. After he ejected from
    his wounded jet, he broke his right shoulder, which never healed
    correctly because of lack of treatment.

      From the ground, in enemy
    territory, he radioed the other planes in his flight and gave his
    position, and two of his fellow A-4s strafed the area around where he
    had landed, trying to protect him from the North Vietnamese. A
    helicopter was dispatched to go pick him up, but it was slow in
    arriving. Worried that they would run out of fuel, Crayton asked that
    the fighters patrolling the area to protect him go back to safety.

     By
    the time the rescue helicopter finally arrived, his parachute was still
    there, but Crayton was gone —  captured by the enemy. The young pilot
    spent the next two years in solitary confinement. He was imprisoned for
    a total of seven years in camps in and around Hanoi. During that time,
    like John McCain, he was brutally tortured by his captors.

    Along with McCain and about 600 other prisoners of war, Crayton was finally released in 1973.
      I'll
    never forget when the prisoners were released. I was a senior in high
    school in Portsmouth, Rhode Island. Our family gathered around the TV
    to watch news coverage of the first POWs getting off the big C-141As
    that had brought them to Clark Air Force base in the Philippines.

      They
    emerged one by one from the door of the plane, emaciated and pale, and
    walked, as straight and tall as they could with their improperly healed
    broken bones, down the steps, and proudly saluted the American military
    men waiting for them. I’ll never forget watching one of the frail
    former POWs gingerly kneel on the hot runway and kiss the concrete of
    the U. S. base, overcome with joy at being once again on American soil.

      I
    watched with tears running down my cheeks. I still can't watch or read
    anything about prisoners of war without getting very emotional. These
    men were my dad’s comrades-in-arms. These were men like the pilots I
    had grown up around, like the fathers of my friends, our neighbors on
    the Navy bases where I grew up.

      I’m so happy to know now that
    retired Navy Captain Render Crayton is alive and well and living in
    Ketchum, Idaho. I’d love to be able to talk to him. I’d love to be able
    to thank him. But for today, I’ll just wear his bracelet one more time,
    in tribute to him and to the other brave men like him. Men like John
    McCain. Men like my father.

    “Freedom has a taste to those who fought
    and almost died for it, that the protected shall never know.”

     (Written
    by an unknown author on a cell wall in the Hanoi Hilton)

    By Celia DeWoody
    Copyright 2008 Harrison (Ark.) Daily Times
    Published Nov. 5, 2008

    Daddy in cockpit-low




  •    

    Years ago, I fell in love with a poem called “The Marshes of Glynn”
    by Sidney Lanier, an 19th-century musician and poet from Georgia, and
    I've tucked away lovely bits of it in a mental apron pocket.

       In his
    lyrical verses about the salt marshes that divide the Sea Islands of
    Glynn County, Georgia, from the mainland, Lanier celebrates the island
    forests, as well. He describes their “beautiful glooms, soft dusks in
    the noon-day fire ...”

    beautiful glooms

    His description of the woods, especially of
    the interplay of light and dark, has stayed with me, and I think of his
    words often when I'm walking through our own Ozarks woods that remind
    me of the poet's “braided dusks of the oak and woven shades of the vine
    ...”

    vine

       Lanier loved the forests of coastal Georgia  — his “dim, sweet woods ... the dear, dark woods” — like I love ours.
    Doyle
    and I went back to the Schermerhorn Trail near Compton for a leisurely
    hike on Sunday — a cool, breezy, shiny-golden October day. I don't
    think I've ever been on a prettier walk. The buttery sunshine poured
    through the woods canopy, making the leaves glow like stained glass in
    every shade of green, gold, yellow, orange and red. The wind was just
    shifting around to the north as it prepared to blow a cold front
    through, so the leaves were trembling in the breeze and letting go of
    their twigs to flutter down like soft, jewel-toned rain.

    stained glass leaves

       Through the
    forest's shade — Lanier's “emerald twilights” — slanting sunbeams
    darted through here and there, spotlighting and transforming a branch
    of yellow leaves to melted gold, turning a fallen red leaf to a glowing
    ember.

    melted gold

    For my husband and me, walking through our own “dim, sweet
    woods” is the ideal way to spend a Sunday afternoon, and this time of
    year, the hiking is close to perfect. The air is cool and fresh, the
    bugs are just about gone, and even the poison ivy is fading away. And
    best of all, the fall leaves turn the woods into a colorful
    kaleidoscope.

    kaleidoscope

       When I'm walking in the woods, my worries fall away,
    my problems evaporate and my priorities seem to shift back into their
    proper order.

       I believe Sundays are supposed to be special days,
    days when we don’t work, days when we honor the God who made us, and
    rest, and refresh our spirits, and spend time with those we love.
    Walking in the woods is a way for me to do all of those things.

    looking up

       When
    we're hiking, Doyle and I don't talk much — we just walk, and think,
    and try to absorb our surroundings. I stop often to shoot photos, and
    he waits patiently while I kneel down to shoot a close-up of a red
    leaf, or zoom in on a spiderweb shining in a late-afternoon sunbeam.

    red leaf with spiderweb

       At
    one point in our walk Sunday, my husband wanted to venture off the
    trail and go up a hill to the top of a ridge we could see through the
    trees. He led the way, and I followed along, picking my way over fallen
    limbs, crunching through dried leaves, using a springy branch for a
    walking stick.

       When we got to the top, we discovered it wasn't a
    bluff, as we'd thought, but just the crest of a hill that fell off
    steeply on the other side. The view was lovely. Far away, across the
    wooded valley, blue hills faded into the distance.
       On the hilltop, I
    found myself standing under a little maple tree whose leaves were
    painted in Christmas colors — bright greens and Santa-Claus reds. The
    wind was shifting to the north, and the cheerful leaves were trembling
    as they were blown upward like an old-fashioned lady's skirts.

    red and green

    Under that maple tree, I made a conscious effort to just feel, to soak in the experience.
       The
    wind was fresh, almost cold. The late-afternoon sunshine was glowing
    through the leaf canopy. The bright leaves were dancing over my head as
    I looked up. The smell of the woods was of drying leaves, of north
    wind, of both living wood and dying. All I could hear was rustling
    leaves and the whoosh of the wind through a million trees. Red and gold
    leaves let go of their twigs and floated free, like tiny kites released
    by cheering children.

       We made our way back down the hill and found
    the trail again. As we headed back to our car, the sun was low in the
    sky, slanting through the woods, silhouetting the trees’ trunks and
    branches as we looked to the west, and setting the leaves on fire.

    silhouettes

    “But now when the noon is no more, and riot is rest,
    And the sun is a-wait at the ponderous gate of the West,
    And the slant yellow beam down the wood-aisle doth seem
    Like a lane into heaven that leads from a dream ...”
    That Georgia poet would’ve loved our Ozarks woods.

    By Celia DeWoody
    Copyright 2008 Harrison (Ark.) Daily Times
    Published Oct. 29, 2008