Month: January 2009

  • I have a Picasa web album of ice storm photos, but can't remember where to paste in the code for the slideshow when I'm using themes - help! My memory is apparently going fast ... I just did this a month or so ago. Yikes.

    Here's a photo or two:

    An empty lot down the street on Wednesday:

    ice neighborhood

    Our pergola and part of the roof smashed by falling elm branches...thank the Lord the huge branch over the house didn't fall. Our cars were moved just in time before another huge branch fell in our driveway...

    IMG_5357-1

    icy north side of SL

    IMG_5463-1

    Fire and Ice

    Some say the world will end in fire
    Some say in ice
    From what I've tasted of desire
    I hold with those who favor fire
    But if it had to perish twice
    I think I know enough of hate
    To say that for destruction ice
    Is also great
    And would suffice.

    - Robert Frost

  • Just got our power back at 5 p.m. after losing it Tuesday morning during our ice storm...thank you, Lord, for all the crews from out of state who have been  here helping us. The devastation from the ice is unbelievable...so many beautiful trees broken. I will post photos soon. We're so thankful to have power - we were tired of being cold and dark all week!

  • "The one resolution, which was in my mind long before it took the form  of a resolution, is the key-note of my life.  It is this, always to regard as mere impertinences of fate the handicaps which were placed upon my life almost at the beginning.  I resolved that they should not crush or dwarf my soul, but rather be made to  blossom, like Aaron's rod, with flowers."


    -- Helen Keller (1880-1968) American Writer

    If Helen Keller, completely deaf and blind, could have this attitude - and if her life could be such a lovely example of blossoms coming forth - what could we do with our strong, healthy bodies and unimpaired faculties, if we resolve that our own problems, handicaps, shortages, will not crush or dwarf our souls? If we resolve to live out the truth of Romans 8:28 - that ALL things work together for good, for those who love God?

  •   Sometimes instead of a useless old object being thrown away, it can be
    used to create something pretty, something that will make people smile
    when they see it.

      Something like a bottle tree.
      When
    I was a little girl visiting in Mississippi, every once in a while I’d
    see an unusual sight in front of an unpainted shack out in the country.
    Near the sagging front porch of the house, a dead tree would bloom with
    empty glass bottles, usually cobalt blue ones, stuck onto its leafless
    limbs.

      I’ve read that bottle trees originated in the Congo, where
    bottles were sometimes hung from trees in the hope of protecting the
    occupants of the nearby dwelling from evil spirits.

      The custom of
    creating a bottle tree near a home was brought to the American South by
    African slaves, who passed it down to their children and grandchildren.
    These folks would sometimes slip empty bottles onto the trimmed
    branches of a dead tree — often a crape myrtle — in their yards.

       Because
    the color blue supposedly attracted spirits, blue bottles were favored.
    Milk of magnesia bottles were the most popular, but the little brown
    bottles that snuff used to come in were also often seen.

       Sometimes
    instead of being stuck onto branches, two bottles were tied together,
    and the rope thrown over a branch, like a pair of shoes with shoelaces
    tied together thrown over a power line.

      It was believed the evil
    spirits would fly into the colorful bottles and be trapped there. I
    hear that sometimes the owners of the home would cork the bottles after
    they believed the spirits had been caught, then throw the occupied
    bottles into the river.

       Eudora Welty, one of my home state’s most
    beloved and revered writers, used bottle trees as important symbols in
    one of her stories, “ Livvie.”  And during the Depression, when she did
    a Southern photo series for the Works Progress Administration, Welty
    included several shots of bottle trees in country yards.

    During my
    childhood, bottle trees were only found in the bare-dirt yards of poor
    sharecroppers, but these icons of Southern culture have crossed social
    and economic boundaries and can now be found gracing the landscaped
    yards of large, stately homes across the South.

       My closest personal
    encounter with a bottle tree came several years ago, when we stopped to
    visit in my little Mississippi hometown on our way to Harrison from
    Florida. My dear friends Marion and Gene have a beautiful home, and one
    of the prettiest yards in town. On this trip, I spotted, right next to
    their driveway, among the flowerbeds and flowering shrubs, something
    new since my last visit —  a bright bottle tree.

        It wasn’t actually
    a tree, but was made of rebar welded together in the rough shape of a
    tree, and each branch was tipped with a colorful bottle — reds,
    oranges, blues, greens, ambers, glowing in the sunshine. Marion was
    absolutely enchanted with it, and couldn’t wait to tell me all about
    it. She said some of the prettiest homes in Jackson have bottle trees
    in their yards, and that the inmates at Parchman Penitentiary in the
    Delta make the iron bottle trees and sell them. She had bought her own
    tree from Parchman.

       My friend was having the best time going to flea
    markets and antique stores hunting for old colored bottles to recycle
    into bottle-tree ornaments. One of the first things I did when we got
    to Harrison was shop for pretty bottles for Marion, and I found several
    bright red and orange ones in our downtown flea markets.

       For the
    very first story I covered for the Daily Times, I went out to the
    daffodil labyrinth at the Chamber, where well-known Mississippi
    horticulturist and garden writer Felder Rushing was giving the Master
    Gardeners pointers and helping them plant annuals in among the
    daffodils in the labyrinth he had helped design for them. I told Felder
    about Marion’s bottle tree, and he grinned and proudly said, “I’m the
    one who’s gotten that bottle-tree fad started!”

       Well, ever since I
    first saw Marion’s tree, and realized how pretty it looked with the sun
    hitting it in the morning, shining through those colored bottles out
    there in her beautiful yard, I’ve wanted a bottle tree of my own.

    bottletreeDoris
       Doyle
    agrees with me (oh, what a gift it is to have an agreeable husband!)
    that Squirrels’ Leap deserves a bottle tree of its very own, and has
    said he’ll make me one. I’m fixing to start keeping my eyes open for
    colorful old bottles. I’ve already got a few that I’ve found here and
    there over the years.

       So be watching ... the next time you ride by
    our house, we’re liable to have an iron tree covered with a bunch of
    blue Milk of Magnesia bottles, glowing cobalt in the early spring
    sunshine.


    Felder's blue bottle tree
       My proper, ladylike Mississippi grandmother might turn
    over in her grave if she knew I was thinking about planting a bottle
    tree in my yard, but I’m really excited about it.

       To me, a bottle
    tree is a beautiful example of taking something ugly and transforming
    it into something wonderful. Of taking something bound for the trash
    can or the dump, coated in dirt, full of spiderwebs, and cleaning it up
    and placing it where the light shines through it, so it glows like a
    jewel.

       Isn’t that what our creative and loving Father does with our lives, if we give Him the chance?

    By Celia DeWoody
    Published Jan. 21, 2009 Harrison (Ark.) Daily Times
    Copyright 2009 CPI, Inc.













  • I've been spending any spare minutes I've had working out in our yard at Squirrels' Leap. Working outside in the fresh (COLD!) air and sunshine, I'm falling more and more in love with our beautiful Ozarks and with our new home.

    At the end of our driveway was an ugly, mostly dead juniper shrub, hiding some old iris bulbs...

    IMG_5092

    With a loan of brute strength from my big strong husband for a few minutes, I managed to grub out the juniper and salvage the iris, hopefully to soon be transplanted to a new comfy bed...

    cleaned-out bed


    Iris bulbs ...

    IMG_5094

    Bare brown winter bushes now, but a hedge of white spirea once early spring arrives!

    IMG_5098

    I raked pinestraw and piled it on the front beds, where I hope to get some azaleas established one day...

    front bed with pinestraw
    Random shots around Squirrels' Leap:

    elm tree 3

    IMG_5109

    north side

    Do you enjoy working in your yard or garden? Are you able to do any outside work this winter?

  • Hey, friends,

    We didn't make any adventurous treks this weekend, mainly because it was my turn to edit the Sunday paper, so I had to work Saturday. But I got through early, in time for us to go to Saturday evening Mass, then go out to dinner, which was nice.

    Sunday I worked around the house and then got out in the yard, which I just LOVE! This new yard is two-and-a-half lots big, a corner lot, and has all kinds of old beds and rock retaining walls and beds that have been framed off and then neglected for years. We'll spend the rest of our lives (I hope!) transforming it into our dream yard - but I already love it. It has one old dogwood tree, and two big maples, and a HUGE, ancient elm tree. And a row of four black walnuts along one side, and a little grove of pine trees ... and I've identified a forsythia bus and a row of spirea, I think, along the driveway (hard to tell in the dead of winter!) I can't wait to see what bulbs come up on this property that has been a yard since the house was built, we think, in 1894.

    What did y'all do over the weekend?

  • Hey, friends,
    I am reading an amazing book, and I urge you all to get it and read it. It's profound, and I can tell it's going to be one that I go back to over and over. It's a life-changing book:

    Mother Teresa's Secret Fire by Joseph Langford.

    Here's a taste:

    (The author is speaking of Mother Teresa's struggles with her own personal dark night of the soul:)
    "Darkness need not be the opposite, the enemy of light. When seeded with God's grace, darkness becomes its catalyst. Night becomes the womb to the day. It is the power of love, of God's own nature as love, that performs this alchemy. When embraced for others, when transformed by love, darkness indeed becomes light ...

    Divine love wraps itself in our pain and darkness, as Mother Teresa would say, 'without counting the cost.' God's very nature as love plunges him headlong into our neediness and , unbelievably, even into our sin. In St. Paul's bold words, 'For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin.' (2 Cor. 5:21)

    Mother Teresa would follow Jesus' lead. She, who from childhood knew no darkness, would accept to 'become darkness' for the sake of the poor. She gathered into her soul and flooded with love the very blackness that denied God's existence, drowning the darkness in light.

    The importance of Mother Teresa's example, even for those who bear much milder Calcuttas, is in showing how far faith and love can reach in this life - even in the night, even buffeted by pain, with every wind against it. Her victory in the night is proof that the exercise of faith and love is ultimately our free choice, never beholden to circumstance, a decision accessible at all times. God makes it always possible to move beyond preoccupation with our own pain, and to reach out to assuage the pain of others. Rather than isolating us, we can choose to make of life's burdens a sacred bridge into the pain of others."

  • My son Jamie created this photo for us of our new (old) house and gave it to us for Christmas. I just love it...
    squirrelsleap1